Join Our Challenge

Many of us who love to eat also love to read. But we go beyond that. We love to read about food. If that is you, then you are invite to join us in the Foodies Read 2 Challenge for 2012. This is the second year in which we’ll indulge ourselves with good food writing.

If you are new to a food/reading challenge, you may be wondering – what is a “food book”? A food book is a book which is centered around food and/or drinks. That could be a cookbook, a food biography or memoir, a non-fiction book focused around a specific food, wine, chef or restaurant. Also allowed is a fictional story in which food plays a major role.

Here’s how the challenge works:

1. Decide how many food books you want to read in 2012. Pick one of the reading levels below. Remember, this is a challenge, so try pushing yourself. Participants from last year, please notice I’ve pushed the numbers up a bit. Levels:

  • Short-Order Cook: 1 to 3 books
  • Pastry Chef: 4 to 8 books
  • Sous-Chef: 9 to 13 books
  • Chef de Cuisine: 14 to 18
  • Cordon-Bleu Chef: More than 19

2. Grab the challenge button and write a post on your blog so we can spread the word. No blog? That’s okay. Sign up in the comments section.

3. After you read each book for the challenge, come back here and tell us about it. On January 1st I’ll provide pages so you can post links for your reviews. We’ll use the same categories as last year: Cookbooks, Memoirs/Biographies, Fiction, and Nonfiction. I’ll also include a page where you link up your Challenge Wrap-Up post.

Guidelines:

  • The challenge runs from January 1 through December 31, 2012.
  • You don’t need a pre-selected list of books.
  • It’s okay to cross over with other challenges.
  • Any book format is allowed (print, audio, ebook)

Sign Up Here: Sign in using Mr. Linky below. Put your name or blog name on the first line and your blog address on the second line. Non-bloggers will use the comment section.

This entry was posted in fr2 posts. Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Join Our Challenge

  1. BJ says:

    I’m so excited to do this again. Put me down for Chef de Cuisine level. Will post on Goodreads. Thanks for hosting this again, Margot. I can’t wait!/bj

  2. Melissa says:

    Just signed up but not sure if the Linky “took.” Here’s my sign up post, just in case: http://bettyboochronicles.blogspot.com/2011/12/2011-challenge-fail-foodies-reading.html

  3. 2011 was my first year. Was looking for it for 2012 because, who knew I read so many food related titles…mostly cozy mysteries. Getting my list ready!

  4. Nan says:

    SO happy you are offering this again, Margot! I’ve just posted here:

    http://lettersfromahillfarm.blogspot.com/2011/12/2012-foodies-read-2-challenge.html

  5. great challenge! I just joined and know already 2 titles I will read. Do you know about my own challenge?: http://wordsandpeace.com/2011/11/15/books-published-in-the-first-years-of-my-life-challenge-%E2%80%93-2012/

  6. Happy to find this challenge for 2012….I read lots of cozy mysteries featuring food.

  7. a3ana says:

    This’ll be my first reading challenge ever…..excited to see how it will work out…
    I’ll post at GoodReads.

  8. I’m in! I picked up some fun foodie mysteries at the Borders closing sales.

  9. thecoolmom says:

    I love the idea of this blog. I’m so glad to know I’m not the only one who likes to read cookbooks and food histories, not to mention culinary mysteries. This should be a lot of fun.

  10. AMTKK says:

    Sounds like great fun. I didn’t know there was anything out there like this. I’m happy to be joining you.

  11. Patti Smith says:

    I’m in again this year…but am going to do much much better!

  12. Reno says:

    This was my favourite challenge that I participated in 2011 – I told myself I wasn’t going to sign up for any challenges but I think I will have to give this another shot :P Last year I read five food books, so I’m going to aim for eight this year.

  13. セレネ says:

    I saw this on Uniflame’s weblog and I’ll be joining too (“Mene”, with my English book-review weblog). I’ll make a post about it later today :)

  14. Pingback: My 2012 Reading Challenges | wyomingstorygirl

  15. This is my first reading challenge since I was in school! Thanks for the challenge of Cordon-Blue Chef…I’ll be blogging my first read as soon as possible!

  16. Bunny Day says:

    Sign me up as a short order cook. Where do I get titles?

  17. Bunny Day says:

    I forgot to click the notify me buttons. There.

  18. Teresa says:

    Oops, I’m a bit new at blogging and I think I may have signed up for this challenge twice, over zealous on my button pushing. Can Mister Linky fix that??! I’ll try for Pastry Chef this year because I’m all about sweets!

  19. Teresa says:

    Just posted about my first book read for this challenge:http://myhighlandcottage.blogspot.com/ but is there some other way to link between blogs?

Leave a Reply

